• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Cribbing:

1693TA

Occupation
FAA Radar Engineer, (Retired)
How beneficial would it be, (or not) to easily crib up a tracked machine to run the undercarriage unloaded? I've been floating this idea around for a few months after cribbing mine up to both steam clean and lubricate moving parts after removing 40+ years of crud and buildup. It sure made cleaning the underside easy including the inner sides of the track frames and rollers. Now I didn't have anything moving, or rotating while under there, but it made for easy repositioning of the tracks for access, and easy feeling for "notchy" rollers.by hand.

I see a lot of skid steers and mini's in for service and a couple have expressed interest in having their machines periodically cleaned so I'm wondering about a niche market as nobody I know offers this service.

skyking1

Blocking inside the track frames is tricky to get it stable enough. You are getting narrow with the cribbing if you want to turn the tracks.
Once you get it cribbed you'll have no access at all remaining to do any work down the middle, so I would wonder about the benefits.
I see running it up on blocks and then jacking one side at a time might be workable for looking at rollers etc. That way the other side is down on the track, and you are just using some blocks and jacks and have room to work them on the one side.

MG84