• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Using a thumb

upnover

Occupation
Consultant
I finally had a chance to use my Mini Ex, a Yanmar 35-5 with a hydraulic thumb. I'm new to the excavator world but I think I was born to play in the dirt!

My question is this: When I close the bucket on the thumb the bucket hydraulics will force the thumb to retract. Is this normal? Does the bucket have more force that the thumb? Does this cause any problems? If a person was lifting a large rock would you have to keep the pressure on the thumb to keep it from letting go of the rock? I guess when I find some rocks to lift I'll find out but if someone with experiece could chime in that would be great

willie59

Administrator
Occupation
Service Manager
I finally had a chance to use my Mini Ex, a Yanmar 35-5 with a hydraulic thumb. I'm new to the excavator world but I think I was born to play in the dirt!

My question is this: When I close the bucket on the thumb the bucket hydraulics will force the thumb to retract. Is this normal? Does the bucket have more force that the thumb? Does this cause any problems? If a person was lifting a large rock would you have to keep the pressure on the thumb to keep it from letting go of the rock? I guess when I find some rocks to lift I'll find out but if someone with experiece could chime in that would be great