• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Fair backhoe rates

Duke

Now that I've probably got my case 580M coming this week, I am going to start actively trying to make money with it on the side. I'm primarily using it to dig my own foundations, septic, r/w retention systems, driveways, etc.

BUT, my plumber and others are asking me how much $$ for smaller foundations, trenches, digging up stumps, etc. Heck, I have a friend who has a giant piece of property he needs all kinds of work done (land clearing, stump removal, etc.) that could keep me busy for a while alone.

I'm not a professional excavator, but what's a fair rate for my machine and a decent operator per hour or per day just digging with my machine?

$100/hr? guess?

Ford LT-9000

Banned
Occupation
Rolling around in the dirt
Rubber tired hoe rate is 80 dollars per hour around these parts thats 80 dollars CND so 74 dollars US.

murray83

Occupation
jack of all trades....master of none
I'm getting $50/hr Canadian most on average get $50-65/hr.

$90+ an hour is more excavator rates

Cat420

Occupation
Construction, small engine and machine shop work
We figure about $95/hr for ours. Most people just want a bottom line number, but you still need to figure what the hourly rate will be. Estimating the time it will take you is the main thing that takes some figuring.